Home / About Us / News / Zumtobel Group Award 2017: The winners have been decided

Zumtobel Group Award 2017: The winners have been decided

  • ZG Award 2017_01_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_02_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_03_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_04_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_05_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_06_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_07_568x372
  • ZG Award 2017_08_568x372
Oct 19, 2017

Zumtobel Group awards its fifth international architecture prize

In what is the fifth edition of the Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment, in 2017 the international expert jury awarded first prizes to innovative projects in the three categories, Buildings, Urban Developments & Initiatives and Applied Innovations. This year there is also a special award for Young Professionals.

The new Arnhem Central Station is considered to be the most complex project of its kind in Europe and was awarded first prize in the category URBAN DEVELOPMENTS & INITIATIVES presented by Thorn. The Zumtobel Group Award is endowed with EUR 50,000 per category. Currently, with more than 65,000 passengers a day, the station complex forms the main entrance to the City of Arnhem, Netherlands, and is an important European transport hub. The master plan for the new station, developed by UNStudio, was launched in 1996 and included the redesign and integration of the surrounding area.

Completed in 2015, the Arnhem Central Station combines multiple transportation modules into a new vernacular. The complex functions as public transport hub and seamlessly incorporates office space, retail, a new station hall, a platform roof structure, a railway underpass, a road tunnel, storage for bicycles, and parking space. An in-depth analysis into passenger flows and the required transport modes allowed pedestrian transfer routes to be designed for a capacity increase, facilitating the economic growth of the city region. The design also embodies the idea of social sustainability: a sense of community, long sightlines and open spaces ensure the feeling of safety and personal comfort.

The total development area is equipped with a heat and cold ground storage system, providing all buildings in the area with a central and sustainable energy supply for heating and cooling. Approximately 1,300 tons of waste are managed by an automated garbage transport system every year, reducing fine dust pollution and exhaust gases from garbage trucks.

In the category Buildings the Star Apartments by Michael Maltzan Architecture was awarded, Warka Water by Arturo Vittori is this year's winner in the category Applied Innovations. The Jianamani Visitor Center by Atelier TeamMinus was awarded the YOUNG PROFESSIONALS special prize.

Founded in 2007, the Zumtobel Group Award - Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment has established itself as a prestigious architectural prize. The international architectural award, curated once again by Aedes Architecture Forum Berlin, honours contemporary realised or conceptual works that make a significant contribution to greater humanity and sustainability in the built environment and its design.

The jury is made up of internationally recognised experts from the fields of architecture, design, society, art and technology and is reappointed for each award.
The 2017 jury comprised Klaus Daniels, HL-Technik Engineering GmbH; Elke Delugan-Meissl, Delugan Meissl Associated Architects, Elizabeth Diller, Architect Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Elgar Fleisch, Professor of Information Management, Holger Hagge, Architect & Management Expert, Zhang Ke, Architect ZAO/standardarchitecture, Ulrich Schumacher, CEO Zumtobel Group and Kjetil Trædal Thorsen of Snøhetta Architects.

Here you can find more information about the Zumtobel Group Award. You will be forwarded to the website of the Zumtobel Group Award.

Please click here for the full media kit.

← Back to overview